And Then Came Denis Gagnon

Denis_Gagnon

Decidedly, 2010 is Denis Gagnon’s year. From his recent collaboration with mass retailer Bedo, to the documentary film of which he is the subject, Je m’appelle Denis Gagnon (My Name Is Denis Gagnon), which premiered earlier this year at the International Festival of Films on Art, this designer is generating some major buzz. This leaves me incredibly embarrassed to admit that I’d never heard of the bespectacled fashion maverick before now! These days, the fashion cognoscenti have one more reason to celebrate Gagnon, with the much-anticipated retrospective of the designer’s work at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts this month. The first of its kind, the exhibit, aptly titled, Denis Gagnon s’expose (Denis Gagnon Shows All) will showcase the work of the homegrown couturier spanning the course of his illustrious decade-long career. And there’s my opportunity to school myself on Montreal fashion’s darling enfant terrible (I’m still so embarrassed!)

Denis Gagnon s’expose, at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
from October 19, 2010 to February 13, 2011

Je m’appelle Denis Gagnon, special screening at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
October 19, 2010, 6pm

Photo: Julien Faugère

Comments
4 Responses to “And Then Came Denis Gagnon”
  1. Retromus-ik says:

    Interesting topic. I think you pretty much have it: style is from within. But then again, your personal style does have outside influences just like fashion.
    btw, katia,you’re an amazing writer. You should google search internship opportunities abroad. There are so many out there, and I thought of you as I was checking them out.

  2. Katia says:

    Hey Mags, You’re right, personal style is definitely influenced by outside sources, but I feel it differs from fashion in that we take these outside influences to help us better represent our inner selves, if that makes any sense!

    Thanks for the compliment, sweetie. I will look into these internship opportunities. Thanks for letting me know!

  3. Retromus-ik says:

    😉 Makes sense. Btw, I just noticed I had commented on the wrong post lol

  4. Katia says:

    Haha! Mags, that’s what I figured! No worries, happens all the time 🙂

Leave a comment