All Hail Stripes?

 

canadian_museum_of_civilization

horizontal_stripes_sweater_che_guevara

“Once you can accept the universe as being something expanding into an infinite nothing which is something, wearing stripes with plaid is easy.”—Albert Einstein

Now, I’ve always loved stripes. And as such, striped garments have always made up a significant part of my wardrobe. In my eyes, a striped sweater or blouse can look quite flattering, refine one’s appearance, and provide just the right touch of ornateness without going over the top.

Although many people, namely fashion experts and critics, greatly discourage wearing stripes (of the horizontal variety, specifically), stating how unfashionable, and unflattering they are, I can’t help but adore them, and swear allegiance to them. I’ve noticed that I do not own many clothes with vertical stripes (the slimming kindwhich are seemingly not frowned upon, but rather encouraged), while horizontal stripes permeate my wardrobe (the ones touted as bad, very very bad).

And while I understand why many would advise against wearing horizontal stripes, as they apparently can make the wearer look wider, I believe that it isn’t so much the sporting of stripes themselves, but rather the execution, which in the end really determines whether the overall look is a “hit” or “miss”. And judging by the recurring presence of stripes in boutiques, stores, and on the runway, I figure that they must have a certain appeal in order to have garnered such staying power within the ever-changing world of fashion.

Comments
10 Responses to “All Hail Stripes?”
  1. Paul Pincus says:

    it’s cool to meet another jacques brel fan. love your weblog. cheers!

  2. Serg Riva says:

    enjoying your blog!

  3. Richel says:

    I love stripes. I definitely think they will be a staple in my fall wardrobe.

  4. emily says:

    i really love stripes. ❤

  5. I like stripes, but I prefer vertical. Simply because I have broad shoulders… & anything horizontal makes me look… wide. ;/ & is that your boyfriend? You guys make a beautiful couple. :]

  6. Hi from Paris Katia,thank you very much for your kind words in my Paris street style blog. All what I want is to humanize fashion by showing that real life is more beautiful than the artificial fashion shows and that real people are more beautiful and generous than anorexic top models.And the stylish girl you are prove it.Your visits, your comments, your links on your blogs and your buzz are my best salary.I’ll do my best to please you again and again.keep on being a delight for your readers, friends and family.let’s switch link to celebrate our friendship !mine is written like in google : STYLE AND THE CITY . COM – PARISCheers from ParisKamelSTYLE AND THE CITY . COM – PARIS

  7. you’re welcome dear Katiai like talented peopleI just linked youyou’ll be very kind if you could just write my link like i told you : STYLE AND THE CITY . COM – PARISit’s important for me.thank you very much cheers from ParisKamelSTYLE AND THE CITY . COM – PARIS

  8. leeselooks says:

    hi lady love!loving your blog.newbie here too.Canadian as well— woot woot!!! ( although I’ve lived in Cape Town for the past 3.5 years… )happy friday.

  9. A La Femme says:

    I love stripes, both horizontal and vertical. I need more patterns in my closet, everythings very basic with a few plaids here and there.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Hey boobi dora,I absolutely LOVE your blog. It is smart, inspiring and original!! Keep on writing gracefully and bring creativity to this world!Luv yaMel

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

